Human life depends on the earth. Plants provide 80 percent of our food, and we rely on agriculture as an important economic resource and development tool. Forests make up 30 percent of the Earth’s surface, providing a vital habitat for millions of species of flora and fauna and are an important source of clean air and water. They are also crucial for tackling climate change.

Today we are witnessing unprecedented land degradation and the loss of arable land 30-35 times faster than in the past. Drought and desertification are growing every year, resulting in the loss of 12 million hectares of land and affecting the interests of poor communities around the world. Of the 8,300 known breeds of animals, 8% are extinct, and 22% are at risk of extinction.

This goal is aimed at preserving and restoring the use of terrestrial ecosystems by 2030. Ending desertification is also vital for mitigating climate change. Urgent action is needed to reduce the loss of natural habitats and biodiversity that are part of our shared heritage.

The Republic of Uzbekistan is a country with an arid climate, with a total area of ​​about 44.5 million hectares, which consists mainly of mountains (21.2%) and plains (78.8%), including mostly desert and semi-desert territories, and, to a lesser extent, arable land in intensely irrigated valleys. Land use reform was mainly focused on irrigated agriculture, which occupies about 10% of all territories.

More than 90% of the crop is grown on the irrigated lands of the country. A characteristic feature of most natural ecosystems of Uzbekistan is their increased fragility associated with aridity of the climate. In this regard, the resistance of ecosystems to external influences is rather low, and any anthropogenic interference is an additional factor in the degradation of natural complexes.

Agriculture, livestock breeding, the development of energy and mining industries have a negative impact on almost all natural ecosystems in the country. Plain, foothill, water and near-water ecosystems underwent the greatest changes, especially in the lower reaches of the main rivers, including the Aral Sea region and the Aral Sea. In addition to the fact that ecosystems are under severe anthropogenic pressure, changing hydrological and climatic conditions also have a great influence on them.

Currently, the system of protected natural areas (SPAs) includes 8 reserves, 2 natural and 1 national parks, 1 biosphere reserve, 3 natural nurseries, 12 reserves, 7 natural monuments. The total area of ​​protected areas providing sustainable biodiversity conservation is more than 5% of the country's area.

National Tasks

15.1-Ensure the conservation, restoration and sustainable use of terrestrial and inland freshwater ecosystems and their services, in particular forests, wetlands, mountains and drylands, in line with obligations under international agreements.

15.2-Promote the implementation of sustainable management of all types of forests, halt deforestation, restore degraded forests and substantially increase afforestation and reforestation.

15.3-By 2030, combat desertification, restore degraded land and soil, including land affected by desertification, drought and floods, and strive to achieve a land degradation-neutral world.

15.4-By 2030, ensure the conservation of mountain ecosystems, including their biodiversity, in order to enhance their capacity to provide benefits that are essential for sustainable development

15.5-Take significant action to reduce the degradation of natural habitats, halt the loss of biodiversity and prevent the extinction of threatened species

15.7-Take urgent action to end poaching and trafficking of protected species of flora and fauna and address both demand and supply of illegal wildlife products.

15.8-Take the measures to prevent the introduction and significantly reduce the impact of invasive alien species on land and water ecosystems and control or eradicate the priority species.

15.9-Integrate ecosystem and biodiversity values into national planning and development processes of the economy sectors and industries.

15a-Mobilize and significantly increase financial resources from all sources to conserve and sustainably use biodiversity and ecosystems.

National indicators

Национальные индикаторы 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
1 Indicator 15.1.1. Forest area as a percentage of total land area. 7 7 7,1 7,2 7,3 7,4 7,5 7,6 7,6 7,6 7,9 8 8,1 8,2 8,3 8,3 8,4 8,5 8,6 8,6 8,7
2 Indicator 15.2.1. Progress in the transition to sustainable forest management:                                          
  a) change in net forest area; 100,0 100,0 100,0 100,0 185,9 185,9 185,9 185,9 185,9 185,9 219,0 219,0 219,0 219,0 219,0 234,3 234,3 234,3 234,3 234,3 244,0
  b) terrestrial biomass stocks in forests; - - - - - - 29 128,60 30 167,80 32 212,90 40 640,90 40 708,30 41 792,60 43 121,0 54 144,6 47 828,6 49 400,2 49 603,3 51 484,4 52 689,2 53 038,5 55 000,0
  c) proportion of forest area located in protected areas; 74,4 76,1 78,0 78,4 79,3 80,0 80,7 81,9 83,5 84,3 83,6 84,7 85,3 86,2 87,2 88,7 92,6 94,7 94,4 93,9 95,9
  d) proportion of forest area for which a long-term forest management plan has been developed. 68,9 69,4 69,9 69,5 69,6 68,8 68,6 68,8 69,5 69,6 68,1 70,7 73,5 77,2 79,9 83,1 86,4 88,6 89,8 90,1 92,1
3 Indicator 15.4.1.1. Percentage of protected mountain ecosystems in total area. 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8 1,8
4 Indicator 15.4.2.1. Mountain green cover index. 20,0 20,0 22,0 23,0 24,0 24,0 25,0 25,0 26,0 27,0 28,0 29,0 30,0 33,0 36,0 36,0 36,0 36,0 36,0 36,0 36,0
5 Indicator 15.5.1.2. Number of species listed in the national Red list.                                          
  a) animals 113 113 113 184 184 184 184 184 184 184 184 184 184 184 184 184 184 184 184 206 206
  b) plants 301 301 301 301 301 301 305 305 305 324 324 324 324 324 324 324 324 324 324 314 314
6 Indicator 15.7.1.1. Share of detected illegal trade in total trade of species and products of wild flora and fauna. - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 1,2 2,0 0,33 0,92 2,18 3,1
7 Indicator 15.8.1. Presence of national legislation that prevents the penetration and controls the number of alien invasive species in the country. Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available Available
8 Indicator 15.9.1.1. Number of national, sectoral and regional strategies and programs that take into account the value and conservation of biodiversity and ecosystems. 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 4 3 2 3 2 3 7 3 2 3 3 5 7

download (XLS, 90 КВ)

Человеческая жизнь зависит от земли. Растения обеспечивают 80 процентов нашей пищи, и мы полагаемся на сельское хозяйство, как на важный экономический ресурс и средство развития. Леса составляют 30 процентов поверхности Земли, обеспечивая жизненно важную среду обитания для миллионов видов флоры и фауны и являются важным источником чистого воздуха и воды. Они также имеет решающее значение для борьбы с изменением климата.

Сегодня мы наблюдаем беспрецедентную деградацию земель и потерю пахотных земель в 30-35 раз быстрее, чем в прошлом. Ежегодно растет засуха и опустынивание, что приводит к потере 12 миллионов гектаров земли и затрагивает интересы бедных общин во всем мире. Из 8,300 известных пород животных 8% вымерли, а 22% подвержены риску вымирания.

Данная цель направлена на сохранение и восстановление использования наземных экосистем к 2030 году. Прекращение опустынивания также имеет жизненно важное значение для смягчения последствий изменения климата. Необходимо принять неотложные меры для сокращения потерь естественных мест обитания и биоразнообразия, которые являются частью нашего общего наследия.

Республика Узбекистан является страной с засушливым климатом, с общей площадью около 44,5 млн. га, которая состоит, в основном, из гор (21,2%) и равнин (78,8%), включающих, в большей степени, пустынные и полупустынные территории, и, в меньшей, пахотные земли в интенсивно орошаемых долинах. Реформирование землепользования, в основном, было ориентировано на орошаемое сельское хозяйство, занимающее около 10% всех территорий.

Более 90% урожая выращивается на орошаемых землях страны. Характерной особенностью большинства естественных экосистем Узбекистана является их повышенная хрупкость, связанная с аридностью климата. В этой связи, устойчивость экосистем к внешним воздействиям довольно низкая и любое антропогенное вмешательство служит дополнительным фактором деградации природных комплексов.

Сельско-хозяйственная деятельность, отгонное животноводство, развитие энергетики и добывающей промышленности оказывают негативное воздействие практически на все естественные экосистемы в стране. Наибольшим изменениям подверглись равнинные, предгорные, водные и околоводные экосистемы, особенно в нижнем течении основных рек, включая район Приаралья и Аральское море. Помимо того, что экосистемы испытывают серьезную антропогенную нагрузку, большое влияние на них оказывают также меняющиеся гидрологические и климатические условия.

В настоящий момент в систему охраняемых природных территорий (ОПТ) входят 8 заповедников, 2 природных и 1 национальный парк, 1 биосферный резерват, 3 природных питомника, 12 заказников, 7 памятников природы. Общая площадь ОПТ, обеспечивающих устойчивое сохранение биоразнообразия, составляет более 5% от площади страны.

НАЦИОНАЛЬНЫЕ ЗАДАЧИ

Задача 15.1. Обеспечить сохранение, восстановление и рациональное использование наземных и внутренних пресноводных экосистем, в том числе лесов, водно-болотных угодий, гор и засушливых земель, в соответствии с обязательствами, вытекающими из международных соглашений.

Задача 15.2. Содействовать внедрению методов рационального использования всех типов лесов, остановить обезлесение, восстановить деградировавшие леса и значительно расширить масштабы лесонасаждения и лесовосстановления.

Задача 15.3. К 2030 году вести борьбу с опустыниванием, восстановить деградировавшие земли и почвы, включая земли, затронутые опустыниванием, засухами и наводнениями, и достичь нейтрального баланса деградации земель.

Задача 15.4. К 2030 году обеспечить сохранение горных экосистем, в том числе их биоразнообразия, с целью повышения их способности давать блага, необходимые для устойчивого развития.

Задача 15.5. Принять значимые меры по сдерживанию деградации природных сред обитания животных, снизить количество биологических видов, находящихся под угрозой исчезновения.

Задача 15.7. Незамедлительно принять меры для того, чтобы положить конец браконьерству и контрабандной торговле охраняемыми видами флоры и фауны и решить проблемы, касающиеся как спроса на незаконные продукты живой природы, так и их предложения.

Задача 15.8. Принять меры по предотвращению проникновения чужеродных инвазивных видов и по значительному уменьшению их воздействия на наземные и водные экосистемы, а также принять меры по предотвращению ограничения численности или уничтожения их приоритетных видов.

Задача 15.9. Обеспечить учет ценности экосистем и биологического разнообразия в ходе разработки национальных стратегий и программ развития отраслей и секторов экономики.

Задача 15.а. Мобилизовать и значительно увеличить финансовые ресурсы из всех источников в целях сохранения и рационального использования биологического разнообразия и экосистем.